Where things stand
The electrical room is the critical path of every datacenter and most plant expansions, and it will stay so through this roadmap’s horizon. Low-voltage switchgear is quoted at 50 weeks in Schneider Electric’s September 2026 guide; large power transformers run above 160 weeks in Wood Mackenzie’s 2026 survey as reported by pv magazine; Census M3 unfilled orders for electrical equipment sit at 5.67 months of shipments against 3.2 before 2020. On the demand side, Eaton told investors its US datacenter pipeline is 307 GW, “15 years of backlog” at current output (Q2 2026 call). Every technology below is a response to that queue: more power through the same copper, fewer boxes on the pad, and factories instead of job sites.
This page says what ships when, who ships it, and which purchase orders it strands. Dates are the vendors’ own or the filings’. Where we forecast, the sentence says so.
Rack density 130 kW to 1 MW
The rack sets the electrical spec downstream of the transformer. NVIDIA’s GB200 NVL72 draws 120 kW nominal and 132 kW thermal design power (Pantheon); GB300 NVL72 up to 142 kW (Data Center Knowledge); Vera Rubin NVL72 entered full production in June 2026 at 190 to 230 kW (Servnet tracker). Rubin Ultra NVL576 in the Kyber rack is specified near 600 kW for the second half of 2027 (DCD; Introl), and NVIDIA has told the industry to prepare for 1 MW racks (DCD).
What it strands. A 415 V busway sized for 30 kW racks in 2023 is a stranded asset in a hall that must take 600 kW racks in 2028. Our forecast: white-space distribution bought for less than 200 kW per rack in 2026 will be replaced or bypassed before its depreciation runs out at any site that intends to host a 2027 or 2028 GPU generation.
800 VDC
NVIDIA’s 800 V HVDC architecture replaces 415 or 480 VAC to 54 VDC conversion in the rack with facility-level 800 VDC, claiming 150% more power through the same conductor cross-section and about 200 kg less busbar per rack (NVIDIA developer blog). More than 80 vendors including ABB, Eaton, Schneider and Vertiv build to it; Vertiv’s 800 VDC line ships in the second half of 2026 for the 2027 Rubin Ultra rollout (StorageReview). ABB said on its Q2 2026 call it has no 800 VDC orders yet and sees the opportunity in late 2027 to 2028 (transcript).
What it strands. The MV switchgear and transformer package is unchanged; everything downstream (UPS, busway, PDU, STS) changes SKU. That argues against five-year white-space frame agreements signed in 2026 on AC SKUs, and for MV-side frame agreements, which are the long-lead items anyway.
BESS as UPS
Lithium-ion reached cost parity with VRLA in new builds in 2025 and is now the default UPS battery spec (Kova Stack, vendor). The next step is the utility-scale battery doing the UPS job and the interconnection-smoothing job at once. Tesla’s Megapack 3 (5 MWh per unit) ships from the 50 GWh a year Houston Megafactory from late 2026 (Energy-Storage.News); Tesla deployed 13.5 GWh in Q2 2026 (Tesla IR). Installed Megapack cost fell from about $350 per kWh in Q2 2024 to $290 in Q2 2025 (SDV Guru, vendor). The brake is tariffs: all-in duty on Chinese ESS cells rose from 40.9% in 2025 to 58.4% in 2026 (Battery-Tech Network), with China supplying more than 80% of US ESS cells; Powin’s June 2025 Chapter 11 was the first casualty (TechCrunch). The duty stack for a Megapack is worked line by line in Tariff Bill of Materials.
Our forecast. BESS displaces the static UPS in new hyperscale halls that accept two nines of uptime by 2028; it does not displace it in plants with process loads (semiconductor, pharma, paper) inside this horizon.
Solid-state transformers
The LVDC solid-state transformer working group published spec v0.3 in July 2026, claiming a 5% efficiency gain, 45% less copper and 30% lower TCO (mGrid). Eaton bought Resilient Power Systems in August 2025; ABB and Hitachi Energy hold the largest patent pools (mGrid). Heron Power raised $140 million in February 2026 for a 40 GW a year MV SST plant in Northern California with production in the second half of 2027 and says it has 50 GW of orders lined up (Canary Media; TechCrunch).
Our forecast. SSTs appear at the 800 VDC boundary inside the hall from 2028. They do not replace the oil-filled substation transformer at the fence inside this horizon; that unit stays the longest-lead item on the site.
Prefab e-houses and skids
Schneider’s prefabricated power skid with Galaxy VXL, Eaton’s skid-based modular datacenter and Vertiv MegaMod move switchgear, UPS and transformer integration into a factory (Schneider; Eaton). The structural-steel skid market alone is $1.52 billion in 2026, growing 12.6% a year (GlobeNewswire, September 2 2026). Skids do not shorten the switchgear lead time; they let the OEM control the slot and the buyer skip the contractor’s queue, and they move the 20% of spend that was field labor into the OEM’s margin.
Transformer capacity: what comes online when
| Vendor | Site | Investment | Capacity disclosed | Online | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Siemens Energy | Charlotte, NC | $150M, then $400M+ | 24 LPT a year rising to 57, plus refurbished units | first units 2026, full rate 2027 | Siemens Energy; WFAE |
| Eaton | Jonesville, SC | $340M | three-phase transformers, 700 jobs, units not disclosed | 2027 | Utility Dive |
| Schneider Electric | TX, TN, OH, NC, MA, MO | $700M+ | MV, switchgear, breakers, 1,000+ jobs | 2025 to 2027 | Schneider |
| GE Vernova / Prolec GE | Goldsboro, NC; Mexico | $5.275B for the other 50% of Prolec, $300M+ plants | units not disclosed | closed February 2 2026; plants to 2028 | GE Vernova |
| Hitachi Energy | South Boston, VA and others | $1B incl. $457M LPT plant | largest US LPT site, 825 jobs, units not disclosed | 2028 ramp, 2029 full | Utility Dive |
| Heron Power | Northern California | $140M Series B | 40 GW a year MV SST | H2 2027 | Canary Media |
| Siemens Energy (global) | transformers and GIS | +50% capacity | 2030 | Yahoo Finance |
Only Siemens Charlotte discloses units. Against Wood Mackenzie’s 30% power-transformer supply deficit for 2025 (Wood Mackenzie) and demand growth of 119% for power transformers and 274% for GSUs since 2019 (POWER), our read is that large power transformer lead times do not fall below 100 weeks before 2029, when the Hitachi and Siemens plants both run at rate. The only US grain-oriented steel mill gates all of it; see One Steel Mill Gates Every US Transformer. The DOE efficiency rule’s compliance date of April 23 2029 (Federal Register) lands in the same year.
Dated milestones
| Date | Milestone | Source |
|---|---|---|
| June 2026 | Vera Rubin NVL72 in full production, 190 to 230 kW per rack | Servnet |
| H2 2026 | Vertiv 800 VDC power line ships | StorageReview |
| Late 2026 | Megapack 3 ships from Houston, 50 GWh a year | Energy-Storage.News |
| 2026 to 2027 | Siemens Energy Charlotte LPT plant reaches 24 then 57 units a year | Siemens Energy |
| 2027 | Eaton Jonesville SC transformer plant online | Utility Dive |
| H2 2027 | Rubin Ultra NVL576 Kyber rack, about 600 kW; Heron Power SST plant | DCD; Canary Media |
| December 31 2027 | Section 232 Annex III 15% tier on grid equipment sunsets; 8504.23 transformers go to MFN 1.6% plus 25% | Tariffs, September 2026 |
| Late 2027 to 2028 | ABB’s stated window for 800 VDC orders | ABB transcript |
| 2028 to 2029 | Hitachi Energy South Boston LPT plant ramps | Utility Dive |
| April 23 2029 | DOE distribution transformer efficiency rule compliance date | Federal Register |
| 2030 | Siemens Energy global transformer and GIS capacity +50% | Yahoo Finance |
Lead times and prices behind this table are tracked monthly on the Lead-Time Monitor and the OEM books on the Book-to-Bill League Table. The buyer’s response to all of it, deposits for factory slots, is in The $60 Million Deposit.
What would change this roadmap
- A Wood Mackenzie or OEM print showing large power transformer lead times under 120 weeks before 2028. It would mean the Charlotte and Prolec capacity landed faster than announced, and would pull the 2029 date on the fence transformer forward a year.
- An 800 VDC order in an ABB, Eaton or Schneider release before mid-2027. ABB’s own window is late 2027 to 2028; an earlier order moves the SKU-stranding date for AC white-space gear forward.
- The Section 232 Annex III sunset on December 31 2027 being extended or removed. The 15% to 25% step on imported transformers and switchgear is written into every 2028 budget in this roadmap; if it moves, so does the landed cost of a third of the equipment list.